Books That I Am Taking Camping

We are finally getting a weekend to head to the woods. I’m hoping to get some reading done while we are there. July hasn’t been a good reading month at all. I’ve only finished one book. Hopefully, I can fix that this weekend. Here are the books that I am taking camping.

The Stranger Diaries

Button to Purchase The Stranger Diaries

Synopsis:

Death lies between the lines when the events of a dark story start coming true in this haunting modern Gothic mystery, perfect for fans of Magpie Murders and The Lake House.

Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. A high school teacher specializing in the Gothic writer R. M. Holland, she even teaches a course on him. But when one of Clare’s colleagues is found dead, with a line from Holland’s iconic story “The Stranger” left by her body, Clare is horrified to see her life collide with her favorite literature.

The police suspect the killer is someone Clare knows. Unsure whom to trust, she turns to her diary, the only outlet for her suspicions and fears. Then one day she notices something odd. Writing that isn’t hers, left on the page of an old diary:

Hallo Clare. You don’t know me.

Clare becomes more certain than ever: “The Stranger” has come to terrifying life. But can the ending be rewritten in time?

I haven’t even completed my reading challenge this month. My prompt is read a book nominated for an award in 2020. It won The Edgar Award for best novel. I don’t know a lot about it, but I have high hopes.

Purchase

Mexican Gothic

Button to Purchase Mexican Gothic

Synopsis:

After receiving a frantic letter from her newly-wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noem Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She’s not sure what she will find–her cousin’s husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noem knows little about the region.

Noem is also an unlikely rescuer: She’s a glamorous debutante, and her chic gowns and perfect red lipstick are more suited for cocktail parties than amateur sleuthing. But she’s also tough and smart, with an indomitable will, and she is not afraid: Not of her cousin’s new husband, who is both menacing and alluring; not of his father, the ancient patriarch who seems to be fascinated by Noem ; and not even of the house itself, which begins to invade Noemi’s dreams with visions of blood and doom.

Her only ally in this inhospitable abode is the family’s youngest son. Shy and gentle, he seems to want to help Noem , but might also be hiding dark knowledge of his family’s past. For there are many secrets behind the walls of High Place. The family’s once colossal wealth and faded mining empire kept them from prying eyes, but as Noem digs deeper she unearths stories of violence and madness.

And Noemi , mesmerized by the terrifying yet seductive world of High Place, may soon find it impossible to ever leave this enigmatic house behind.

I’m soooo excited about this. I can’t wait to devour it!

Purchase

So those are the books that I am taking camping. I’m hoping for a weekend of great camping reads. I hope you guys have a great weekend as well!

3 thoughts on “Books That I Am Taking Camping

Leave a Reply